Worcester House was the residence of Edward Somerset, Earl of Worcester, who in 1606 was appointed Keeper of the Great Park of Nonsuch, which originally contained Nonsuch Palace. This magnificent building had been built in 1538 on the site of the village of Cuddington, using materials that had been taken from Merton Abbey, which had been closed down by Henry VIII during his land grab against the Roman Catholic Church. The name Nonsuch meaning as it suggests that it was unique, without compare. The palace was knocked down in the late 17thCentury.
90 total views, 1 views today